S is for Saraswati (Hindu Pantheon) #AtoZChallenge

Saraswati is the Hindu goddess of knowledge, music, arts and nature–everything that flows (like water)–the knowledge of the divine, of nature–not learned or academic knowledge. Her four arms symbolize the four elements required for the human learning of divine knowledge–mind, intellect, ego, alertness (awareness) which is needed for the final liberation of the soul. She is often depicted seated on a lotus, which represents knowledge, with a scroll in two hands and the veena, a musical instrument in the other two. Her worshipers often offer her honey, which was believed to represent perfect knowledge.
Raja Ravi Varma, Goddess Saraswati
Along with Lakshmi and Parvati, the three women form a trinity, which united form part of the Hindu trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva–creation, maintenance and destruction.

Saraswati also appears as a goddess of the Jain, an Indian religion that espouses non-violence toward all living things as well as spiritual independence.  For those Firefly lovers out there, interesting irony for the character, Jain, don’t you think?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s